President’s Corner

2024 FBCC President: Brett Looper

Welcome to the website of the Foothills British Car Club!

It all started with many rides in my teenage years with my friend Trey Scott in his dark red 1966 MGB. I loved the smell of that old classic British car. I really enjoyed that four speed manual. It cornered well and ran like a sewing machine. I have had the classic British roadster fever ever since. Unfortunately Trey passed away last year. His love for British cars was passed on to me and his children. That is why I am here and I love driving and collecting a handful of classic British cars. We now own four classic British cars and a fifth one is in progress. I also enjoy sharing them with others that share the same interest. That is what this club is all about.

We are a diverse group of people who come together over our attachment to wonderful, beautiful British cars. Some of us own more than one, some of us own only one, and some of us simply dream of someday owning one. We all enjoy talking about our cars, whether they be real or hoped for. We enjoy each other’s company and find frequent reasons to get together. Those include monthly meetings (which involve meals and programs), drives along the beautiful foothills of South Carolina and into the breathtaking mountains of North Carolina, occasional picnics and parties, garage sessions, car shows and other events. We’ll keep you as busy as you want to be! And you’ll benefit from the knowledge and experience of many members, one of whom probably has a car almost exactly like yours!

We’re growing, and we’re growing because people find us to be a great group of friendly and helpful people.  We draw our members from all over the Upstate of South Carolina, and from parts of Georgia and North Carolina.  Our dues are ridiculously low, and our benefits are amazingly high.  We invite you to join us, to share your knowledge and love of British Cars with like-minded people.  We know you’ll love it!

Thanks for your interest.  If we can answer any questions, please contact me through the following link:

Brett Looper, 2024 President

Past Foothills British Car Club Presidents:

Jim Harbison              1994
Butch White                1995
Carey Jones                1996
Elaine Galloway          1997
Mike Barefield             1998
Tim Strickland             1999
Glen Finch                   2000
Ed Seagrave                2001
Bill Manning                2002
Steve Poteet                2005
Eddie Saunders          2004
Gerald Medford           2005
John Sharpe               2006
Ed Leese                     2007
Hap Waldrop               2008
Tom Buto                     2009
Jack Donegan             2010
Eddie Saunders          2011
Forbes Kayhart           2012
Bill Palmer                  2013
Steve Chase               2014
Dennis Cox                2015
Jud Chapin                 2016
David Benson             2017
David Benson             2018
Wayne Telman            2019
Curtis Orlowski          2020
Terry Jackson             2021
Charlie Blakely           2022
Mark Dawley               2023